Disrupting factories, missile bases and warships - Exploration into DDS protocol implementations

中文In-PersonVulnerability AnalysisCyberwar

time

06:00 ~ 06:45

site

R0

We discovered and disclosed vulnerabilities in most of the OMG Data Distribution Service (DDS) implementations. We fuzzed and reviewed six of said implementations, found multiple vulnerabilities within them, and also found loopholes in the DDS specification.

We focused on fuzzing network-layer parsers of implementations, and will introduce how we picked targets to test against with, how to overcome difficulties while fuzzing binaries, and how to commence such tests.

In this research, we will take you from knowing nothing about DDS to efficiently researching new vulnerabilities, which we encourage other researchers, users and implementers to do. Also, we’ll be disclosing actual vulnerability details for the first time ever, and insights on exposed endpoints in the Internet.

Ta-Lun Yen

Ta-Lun Yen

Ta-Lun Yen is a security researcher with interests in reverse engineering, protocol analysis, wireless security, embedded and IoT/ICS device security. He has been a member of a Taiwanese InfoSec community "UCCU Hacker" and has presented various research at well-known conferences and events. Ta-Lun is currently working for TXOne Networks with a focus on offensive research.

English interpretations will be provided for all sessions not presented in English.

Agenda Table

Use event local timezone
TimeZone

00:30

  • Attendant Registration Time

01:20

  • Welcome Speech & Event Introduce

02:10

03:00

  • Break

03:15

04:05

  • Lunch

05:00

05:45

  • Break

06:00

06:45

  • Tea Time

07:00

07:25

08:10

  • Break

08:25

09:10

  • Closing

09:25

如何幫你(不)發射飛彈

中文現場演講漏洞分析Cyberwar

我們的研究挖掘並揭露了多個在 OMG Data Distribution Service (DDS) 實作中的弱點。我們對此協定的六個最多被使用的實作進行 Review、Fuzzing (source & binary),且在各個實作當中皆找到多個 CVE,另我們亦在標準中找到實作上的邏輯漏洞。

我們著重在對所有實作中,從網路層解析 DDS 訊息的部份進行 Fuzzing,並會在此研究中探討我們是如何選擇優秀的 Fuzzing 目標、如何克服 Binary Fuzzing 的問題、以及該如何用常見的工具進行測試。

在這篇研究中,我們會從無到有的介紹 DDS,並使聽眾們了解如何研究當中的安全問題。我們相信此研究會起到拋磚引玉的作用,並吸引更多人來注意到 DDS 的安全問題。另外此次將在 HITCON 揭露我們找到的漏洞的過程與具體細節,以及目前我們針對網路上「所有」暴露在外的 DDS 節點的一些分析。

Ta-Lun Yen

Ta-Lun Yen

目前於 TXOne Networks 擔任漏洞研究員。專注在逆向工程、模糊測試、協定分析、無線安全、系統安全等有趣議題。曾任 Black Hat、CODE BLUE、HITCON、CYBERSEC、hardwear.io 等國內外研討會講者。

所有非英語議程都將提供即時同步口譯翻英

議程表

Use event local timezone
TimeZone

00:30

  • 報到時間

01:20

  • 開幕式 - 貴賓致詞與活動介紹

02:10

03:00

  • Break

03:15

04:05

  • Lunch

05:00

05:45

  • Break

06:00

06:45

  • Tea Time

07:00

07:25

08:10

  • Break

08:25

09:10

  • Closing